Congressman Sanford Bishop

Representing the 2nd District of Georgia


Mar 20, 2012
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02) and Congressman Rick Crawford, (AR-01) will hold a lunch on Wednesday, March 21st with leaders of the American chicken industry.  The lunch will serve as the inaugural event of the bipartisan Congressional Chicken Caucus.  The Chicken Caucus was established to educate members of Congress and their staffs on the concerns and benefits of the U.S. chicken industry.

“I look forward to co-hosting Wednesday’s luncheon and working with the Chicken Caucus Co-Chair, Congressman Rick Crawford, and other bipartisan members of the Caucus in creating additional forums where poultry producers, consumers, retailers and food inspectors can provide members of Congress with their insights on how we can better maintain and enhance our poultry industries,” said Congressman Bishop. 

“Congressman Bishop and I look forward to hosting the Chicken Caucus Lunch on Wednesday. It will be a great time to bring industry leaders together and learn what can be done to encourage growth and job creation,” said Crawford. “The chicken industry employs over 300,000 workers in the United States.  My Arkansas district is home to chicken production and I look forward to working with caucus members to advocate for the industry.”

Who: Congressman Sanford Bishop, Congressman Rick Crawford, National Chicken Council leaders, and members of the Congressional Chicken Caucus

What: Inaugural Congressional Chicken Caucus Lunch

When: Wednesday, March 21, 2012 from 12:00PM-1:00PM

Where: H-122, U.S. Capitol

U.S. chicken companies directly employ over 300,000 workers, producing products worth a wholesale value of over $45 billion dollars annually with major operations in more than 30 states.  Furthermore, there are more than 40 vertically integrated companies that contract with about 25,000 family farmers to produce market-ready broilers, hatching eggs and pullets.

Members of the Congressional Chicken Caucus include:

Co-Chair and Founding Member, Congressman Sanford Bishop, (D-GA)

Co-Chair and Founding Member, Congressman Rick Crawford, (R-AR)

Congressman Larry Kissell, (D-NC)

Congressman Austin Scott, (R-GA)

Congressman John Carney, (D-DE)

Congressman Mike McIntyre, (D-NC)

Congressman Robert Hurt, (R-VA)

Congressman Tom Graves, (R-GA)

Congressman John Barrow, (D-GA)

Congressman Dennis Cardoza, (D-CA)

Congressman Jeff Denham, (R-CA)

Congressman Jim Costa, (D-CA)

Congressman Andy Harris, (R-MD)

Congressman Phil Gingery, (R-GA)

Congressman Mike Ross, (D-AR)

Congressman Tim Griffin, (R-AR)

Congressman Paul Broun, (R-GA)

Congressman Morgan Griffith, (R-VA)

Congressman Mo Brooks, (R-AL)

Congressman Alan Nunnelee, (R-MS)

Congressman Gregg Harper, (R-MS)

Congressman Steven Palazzo, (R-MS)

Congresswoman Shelley Moore Capito, (R-WV)

Congressman Steve Womack, (R-AR)

Congressman Billy Long, (R-MO)

Congressman Jack Kingston, (R-GA)

Congressman Bob Goodlatte, (R-VA)

Congressman Ron Kind, (D-WI)