Congressman Sanford Bishop

Representing the 2nd District of Georgia


Sep 20, 2012
Press Release

COLUMBUS, GA – Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02) released the following statement today announcing the awarding of a Fiscal Year 2012 Mental Health and Substance Abuse Service Grant by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to the New Horizons Community Service Board based in Columbus, GA. Mental Health and Substance Abuse Service Grants are used to promote quality behavioral health programs that focus on prevention, treatment, and recovery support services.

“The New Horizons Community Service Board has been a leader in providing a full range of mental health services to the Chatahoochee Valley area,” said Congressman Bishop. “With this award, individuals and families struggling with mental illness, developmental disabilities, and addictive diseases will have better access to the services they need to lead successful lives.”

Ms. Sherman Whitfield, Director of New Horizon’s Health Community Service Board remarked, “New Horizons is very grateful to Congressman Sanford Bishop and his office for their support in applying for this grant from SAMHSA. These dollars will go a long way towards fulfilling our vision of providing an integrated healthcare home in Columbus.”

Within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. This award of $400,000 will go towards the New Horizons Community Service Board’s mission of providing ongoing, accessible, and affordable services to persons with mental health needs, developmental disabilities, and addictive diseases. New Horizons Community Service Board expects to work with over 20 community healthcare providers and faith-based organizations to make and accept referrals for services in order to promote the independence, well-being, and recovery for individuals in the Clay, Harris, Talbot, Muscogee, Chatahoochee, Stewart, Quitman, and Randolph counties.