Congressman Sanford Bishop

Representing the 2nd District of Georgia


Jul 14, 2016
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02) welcomed reduced wait times for travelers at the Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL) in response to a bipartisan letter with 10 other members of the Georgia Congressional delegation calling on the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to deploy additional resources such as additional Transportation Security Officers (TSOs) to address the long wait passengers are experiencing at the world’s busiest airport.

“Long security lines cannot be allowed to adversely affect Georgia’s economy by dissuading people from flying through Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport,” said Congressman Bishop. “As the summer rush continues in full force, the announcement of shorter wait times for travelers is welcome news indeed!”

On May 27, 2016, Congressman Bishop co-signed a letter to TSA Administrator Peter Neffenger with other Members of the Georgia Congressional Delegation requesting the deployment of at least 100 additional Transportation Security Officers at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport to counter increased passenger traffic and the resulting long wait times at security checkpoints at the airport. Congressmen Lewis (D-GA), Westmoreland (R-GA), D. Scott (D-GA), Price (R-GA), Loudermilk (R-GA), Johnson (D-GA), Carter (R-GA), Hice (R-GA), A. Scott (R-GA), and Woodall (R-GA) joined Congressman Bishop in the effort.

On July 8, 2016, Congressman Bishop received a response from Administrator Neffenger stating that changes implemented at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport have resulted in significantly reduced wait times. Specifically, for June 26 – July 2, 100% of non-TSA pre-check passengers waited less than 30 minutes and 100% of TSA pre-check passengers waited less than 5 minutes, all while ensuring the safety of the traveling public.

To read the bipartisan letter to TSA, please click here. To read TSA’s letter in response, please click here.