Congressman Sanford Bishop

Representing the 2nd District of Georgia


Apr 3, 2014
Press Release

ALBANY, GA – Today, Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02) calls the young men and women from Georgia’s 2nd Congressional District to participate in the start of the United States service academy nomination process. This year’s opportunity is open to all high school students and will close in the upcoming fall.

“Once again, I am humbled to have the privilege to nominate strong, extraordinary young men and women from Southwest and Middle Georgia to our nation’s service academies.” said Congressman Bishop. “This opportunity provides motivated students the chance to not only to receive a fully-funded education, but also access to a unique and distinguished standard of service to the United States.”

Though the nomination process is competitive, top tier students from the second Congressional District have been able to receive appointments to each of the military service academies in the past. In the past year, Carl Johnson from Americus received an appointment to West Point Academy; Matthew Ledger from Americus received an appointment to U.S. Naval Academy; Farley Pipkins from Macon received an appointment to U.S. Air Force Academy; and Benjamin O’Donnell and Jack O’Donnell from Canton received appointments to U.S. Merchant Marines.   

Each applicant’s process begins by sending one personal letter to Congressman Bishop specifying interest in joining the academy nomination process as well as specific interest in each academy. Eligible candidates for a Congressional nomination must be United States citizens, reside in the Georgia’s second Congressional District, and be between the ages of 17 and 22 on the year admitted. To request an application packet and apply, candidates should contact Toni Pickel in the Albany office at 229-439-8067 or by email at In order for applications to be reviewed and processed in a timely manner, applications must be submitted to the district office by October 31 of the student's senior year.

For more information, please click here.