Congressman Sanford Bishop

Representing the 2nd District of Georgia


Mr. BISHOP of Georgia. Madam Speaker, I rise today to recognize the
2018-2019 AAAA Boys Basketball Georgia State Champions, the George
Washington Carver High School Tigers of Columbus, Georgia. The team
commemorated this significant milestone on Sunday, March 17, 2019, with
a celebratory parade followed by a celebration of honor at the Columbus
Civic Center.
On Friday, March 8, 2019, the Tigers won the state championship game
against Americus-Sumter High School by a score of 58-55. This was the
fifth game of the season against the Americus-Sumter Panthers and it
was an exciting end to their series. The Tigers took the lead for a
second and final time in the game with 28 seconds left. This historic
victory marked the first championship for the Tigers since 1971.
Their victory in this year's AAAA state championship follows years of
frustration, hard work, and determination bursting forth into an
unbelievable season of teamwork and athletic excellence. The
perseverance of these Tigers, after placing No. 3 in the MaxPreps AAAA
Boys Basketball rankings for Region 1, was clearly shown by a
spectacular season.
I cannot put into words the tremendous pride that the citizens of
Columbus, and indeed the entire Second Congressional District, have in
being able to call this outstanding team of athletes their own. They
have accomplished an incredible feat, one that could not have been
possible without the tireless leadership and encouragement from their
head coach, Warren Beaulah and his staff, as well as their families,
classmates, and members of the community who believed in them and their
ability to bring home a state championship title.
Madam Speaker, I ask my colleagues to join my wife, Vivian, and me,
along with the more than 730,000 people of Georgia's Second
Congressional District in congratulating and honoring these hardworking
young men who have persevered, sacrificed, and achieved the pinnacle of
success in basketball--the Georgia AAAA State Championship title.
116th Congress